Critical Care

 Dr. Iain Johnstone

Dr. Iain Johnstone, Division Head

The Division of Critical Care provides leadership and excellence in the provision of critical care to children in British Columbia. The Pediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) is a 22-bed level 1 unit that serves as the only comprehensive intensive care facility, other than the newborn nursery, for surgical, medical and cardiac patients in this province. There are over 1,000 admissions to the PICU annually. The PICU works in collaboration with the PICU in Victoria, a 4 bed level 3 unit. The PICU provides 24 hour support of the sickest children in BC, with in house resident and senior fellow support, 1:1 or 1:2 nurse patient ratios and in house respiratory therapy.

In addition to excellence in clinical care, the Division also provides leadership in research and education of health care professionals and the general public with respect to the provision of pediatric critical and intensive care.


UPDATED April 10 2019

Research activity is supported by a research assistant/coordinator, with multiple clinical trials ongoing.

Dr. Srinivas Murthy is the Research Supervisor for the pediatric critical care training program.

Gordon Krahn is the Research Coordinator and Quality Lead and provides support for individual and multicentre research.

The UBC pediatric critical care training program is fully accredited by the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada. The program is based at BC's Children's Hospital, which is the only tertiary care pediatric facility in BC, serving a population of approximately 4,500,000.

Please visit our website at for more information.

The clinical service of the Division receives over 1,000 admissions to the PICU annually. Division physicians coordinate over 600 acute pediatric transports to BC Children's Hospital each year. The Extra Corporeal Life Support (ECLS) program continues to thrive and has a new Leader, Dr Linda Edwards, who brings her expertise from Birmingham, UK. The Transitional Care Unit (TCU), under the leadership of Drs Sear and Wensley, supports increasing numbers of patients in the hospital and in local communities who are dependent upon mechanical respiratory support.


Iain Johnstone, BSc MB ChB FRCPCH, Clinical Associate Professor and Division Head
Mary M. Bennett, BSc, MD, FRCPC, Clinical Associate Professor
Arthur F. Cogswell, MB BS, FRACP, FFICANZCA, Clinical Associate Professor
Peter W. Skippen, MB BS, FRCPC, FFICANZCA, Clinical Professor
David F. Wensley, BSc MB ChB FRCPCH, Clinical Professor
Linda Edwards, Mb ChB MRCPCH
Mona Patel, MD, FRCPC, Clinical Assistant Professor
Srinivas Murthy, MD FRCPC, Clinical Assistant Professor
Vi Ean Tan, MD FRCPC

Clinical Associates:

Jenny Rettalack
Cheryl Peters
Jen Smitten
Gaby Yang (locum)

Clinical Fellows:

Cathelle Cornelissen
Zoltan Gyorgyi
Kristel Hilarius
Maaike Sietses
Padmavathy Venkatasubbu

Subspecialty Residents:

Magalie Caudron
Meghan Garner


Jennifer Fox, Division Assistant