VISION 2028 | Our New Strategic Direction

UPDATED May 13 2024

Since I rejoined the Department of Pediatrics in the Spring of 2022, we have established that with a collective voice, we aspire to grow as a thriving community driving excellence and integration in pediatric care, research, and education that enables the best potential for every child, youth and caregiver in BC and beyond.

With this in mind, we are proud to be sharing our new strategic plan, VISION 2028: Inspiring a brighter future of pediatric health through inclusion and innovation.

Through a collaborative process throughout all levels of our organization and across the province, we have refined our Department’s priorities into four strategic pillars. In this plan, we propose to integrate our roles in clinical care, education, research and child-health leadership.

Several key aspirations and values that reflect our community have been distilled in our new strategic plan to reflect: a deep commitment to health justice and health equity; a desire to broaden collaborations with health authorities and strengthen work with Child Health BC (CHBC) to ensure that the highest quality of clinical care is provided across the province; a pledge to continue to strive for scholarly excellence, and above all, a dedication to create a supportive work environment for all that is rooted in compassion and respect.

With gratitude,

Dr. Steven Paul Miller
Head, Department of Pediatrics

Download our Strategic Plan

Questions, comments, feedback

Dr. Ralph Rothstein (Co-Lead) & Associate Head, Clinical Affairs (Lead) & Dr. Laura Sauvé (Co-Lead), Assistant Head, Clinical Partnerships

Group Members:
Ms. Christy Hay
Mr. David Waller
Dr. Esther Lee
Dr. Gurpreet “Preety” Salh
Dr. Mary Connolly
Dr. Mumtaz Virji
Dr. Ram Mishaal
Ms. Sharlynne Burke
Dr. Shazhan Amed
Ms. Trish Page
Dr. Vishal Avinashi

Year 1 Action Plan Update:
A survey to key partners is in development to identify gaps in service.

Dr. Mona Patel (Co-Lead) & Dr. Steven Miller (Co-Lead)

Group Members:
Dr. Brett Schrewe
Dr. Claire Seaton
Dr. Deepak Manhas
Dr. Kyla Hildebrand
Dr. Manish Sadarangani
Dr. Mariana Brussoni
Dr. Scott Wenderfer
Dr. Shazhan Amed
Dr. Stuart Turvey
Dr. Angela Devlin
Ms. Sylvia Wu

Year 1 Action Plan Update:
Information to follow.

Dr. Saleem Razack (Co-Lead) & Dr. Tatiana Sotindjo (Co-Lead) with Department Executive

Group Members:
Dr. Anas Manouzi
Dr. Armansa Glodjo
Dr. Ashley Roberts
Dr. Brett Schrewe
Dr. Carmen Tait
Dr. Dzung Vo
Dr. Esther Lee
Dr. Eva Moore
Dr. Garth Meckler
Dr. Katelynn Boerner
Dr. Kyla Hildebrand
Dr. Laura Sauve
Dr. Matt Carwana
Dr. Mercedes Chan
Dr. Nita Jain
Dr. Preety Sahl
Dr. Quynh Doan
Dr. Wingfield Rehmus
Dr. Srin Murthy
Dr. Tex Kissoon
Ms. Sabrina Gill
Ms. Sylvia Wu

Year 1 Action Plan Update:
A speaker series is planned for the Fall.

Dr. Caron Strahlendorf (Lead)

Group Members:
Dr. Caitlin Marchak
Dr. Derek Human
Dr. Dzung Vo
Dr. Kevan Jacobson
Dr. Kirk Shultz
Dr. Meg Kilvert
Dr. Mumtaz Virji
Ms. Christine Veloso

Year 1 Action Plan Update:
The group has met to discuss ways to engage faculty.