Leadership Update: Dr. Sharon Smile MBBS, DM (Paeds), MSc

Sharon Smile MBBS, DM (Paeds), MSc

We are excited to announce that Dr. Sharon Smile is our new incoming Division Head for Developmental Pediatrics, UBC & BCCH commencing Oct 1, 2023.

Dr. Sharon Smile comes to us from Toronto where she is a Developmental Paediatrician at Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital, an Associate Professor at the Department of Paediatrics at the University of Toronto, and a Clinician Investigator at the Bloorview Research Institute.

Dr. Smile received her Bachelor of Medicine, Bachelor of Surgery, MBBS, from the University of the West Indies, Mona, Kingston, Jamaica in 1997 and she completed her Doctor of Medicine (DM), Paediatrics in 2004. In 2009, she completed her Fellowship training in developmental paediatrics at Holland Bloorview Kids Rehabilitation Hospital/University of Toronto. She later went on to receive her Master’s degree in Clinical Epidemiology at the University of Toronto in 2011.

Dr. Smile has an impressive research portfolio that focuses on mental health, feeding challenges and neurodevelopmental disorders including autism spectrum disorder, and a passion for health equity.

We are excited to support her vision for our division when she arrives as many of her initiatives align with our new strategic plan. Dr. Smile has described to us how she plans to embed equity, diversity, inclusion, and mentorship into her new the team culture. Also, she aspires to engage her colleagues in international collaboration to make advancements in the field of developmental paediatrics; and lastly, how she plans to leverage learning health systems, advocate for research excellence, and promote clinical expertise within the division to provide personalized healthcare for the children of British Columbia.

Please join me in welcoming Dr. Sharon Smile!

Dr. Angie Ip

I also sincerely thank Dr. Angie Ip for stepping up as interim Division Head when Dr. Nancy Lanphear transitioned from this role. Dr. Ip will continue to play a vital role within the division building capacity through continuing professional education, advancing care as the Medical Director of the BC Autism Assessment Network, and addressing inequities for support services for children with neurodevelopmental disabilities and their families.

We greatly appreciate Dr. Ip’s service to the department and her dedication to her patients.

My thanks also go out to Dr. Ram Mishaal for providing ongoing excellent leadership in his role as the Senior Medical Director of Sunny Hill Health Centre as he continues to strengthen clinical programs and embarks on new clinical care initiatives.

Lastly, I would like to extend my gratitude to the search committee chaired by Dr. David Cabral and the committee members – Drs. Angie Ip, Tim Oberlander, Ram Mishaal, Elizabeth Stanford, Christine Alvarez, Linda Huh, Jennifer Yao, along with Kevin Wang, Leeann Taylor, Tanya St John, and Stephanie Glegg.

With best wishes,

Dr. Steven Paul Miller MDCM MAS FRCPC (He, Him, His) Hudson Family Hospital Chair in Pediatric Medicine, James & Annabel McCreary Chair in Pediatrics Professor and Head, Pediatrics | Faculty of Medicine | University of British Columbia Chief, Pediatric Medicine | BC Children’s Hospital