Congratulations Dr. Manish Sadarangani!

Dr. Manish Sadarangani

Congratulations to Dr. Manish Sadarangani who is the 2021 Emerging Academic Leader Award (Large Institution Category) recipient from the Pediatrics Chairs of Canada.

Dr. Sadarangani is an Associate Professor, Department of Pediatrics, Faculty of Medicine, University of British Columbia; Director, Vaccine Evaluation Center, BC Children’s Hospital; Investigator, BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute; and, Sauder Family Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases, University of British Columbia.

His research at the Vaccine Evaluation Center (VEC) aims to lower the burden of childhood infectious disease through vaccination by building an evidence base for local, national and international vaccine policy. His research program includes laboratory studies to develop new and better vaccines, clinical trials to identify how best to utilize new and approved vaccines, and population-based investigations to identify targets for new vaccines and demonstrate vaccine impact.

More about the Pediatric Chairs of Canada
Founded in 1960 as the Assembly of Canadian University Pediatric Department Heads, and incorporated as the Pediatric Chairs of Canada (PCC) in 2002, PCC represents the Departments of Pediatrics within the seventeen Canadian medical schools. Collectively they provide national leadership in research and education to promote the health and healthcare of children and youth in Canada.

Since 2007, through the Pediatric Academic Leadership Awards, the Pediatric Chairs of Canada (PCC) has promoted the development of excellence and leadership within specific career paths. We believe the health of children and youth is dependent on leadership in each of the roles of clinician practitioner, clinician educator, clinician investigator, young academic leaders, and in association with these rules, the provision of administrative leadership. To recognize, support, and promote these roles among academic pediatricians, PCC has established the National Pediatric Leadership Awards.