Archives by date

You are browsing the site archives by date.

Congratulations to Dr. Manish Sadarangani!

Dr. Manish Sadarangani named Sauder Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases Congratulations to Dr. Manish Sadarangani on his recent appointment as the Sauder Chair in Pediatric Infectious Diseases at the University of British Columbia. Funded by a donation from the Sauder Family, the Chair supports research to improve the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of childhood infectious […]

Welcome to Dr. Catherine Biggs!

Dr. Biggs graduated from UBC Medicine in 2011. She then completed her Pediatrics Residency and Allergy/Immunology Fellowship at Boston Children’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School. As a trainee in Boston, she received the Frederick H. Lovejoy Jr. Residency Award and performed translational research on primary immunodeficiencies and immune dysregulatory syndromes. Dr. Biggs will be joining the […]

Congratulations to Dr. Brett Schrewe!

Two UBC doctoral students, Stephanie Lake (Faculty of Medicine) and Brett Schrewe (Faculty of Education), have received the prestigious 2017 Pierre Elliott Trudeau Doctoral Scholarship. They are the 22nd and 23rd recipients of this scholarship from UBC since its inception, and Brett is the first from educational studies. To learn more about Dr. Schrewe and the […]

Congratulations to Dr. Alison Lee!

Dr. Alison Lee is this year’s recipient for the 2017 Outstanding Achievement by a Resident from BC Children’s Hospital Research Institute. “It is wonderful that your hard work, dedication, and research productivity is being recognized. We are all very proud of your achievement!” –  Dr. Lori Tucker, Director,  UBC Pediatric Resident Research Program Congratulations Dr. Lee!

Congratulations Dr. Nazmudin Bhanji!

Dr. Bhanji has been selected by the Family Practice residents at the Vancouver Fraser Site to receive a Postgraduate Teaching Award for 2016-2017. The award recognizes preceptors who have made extraordinary contributions in the area of teaching and education in our Residency Program. “Proving once again that he is LOVED by all!” – Raquel Kirby […]

Congratulations to Dr. Kyla Hildebrand and Dr. Kristin Houghton!

Drs. Hildebrand and Houghton are the recipients of the 2017 Clinical Faculty Award for Excellence in Clinical Teaching. The Clinical Faculty Awards for Career Excellence in Clinical Teaching recognize senior Clinical Faculty members who have demonstrated sustained excellence in teaching over the course of their careers. Three awards are available.  The awards, presented at the Faculty […]

Congratulations to Dr. Pavan Judge!

Dr. Judge is the Pediatric Emergency Medicine Practice’s (PEMP) 2016 “Issue of the Year” award winner for his article entitled, “Congenital Heart Disease in Pediatric Patients: Recognizing the Undiagnosed and Managing Complications in the Emergency Department.” The award recognizes the efforts of authors who have expanded and enhanced the body of evidence-based emergency medicine literature […]

Congratulations to Dr. Jessica Woolfson!

At the recent 94th Annual Canadian Paediatric Society Conference meeting in Vancouver, Dr. Jessica Woolfson won the “Best Pediatric Trainee Research Competition Award for Excellence for Abstract/Oral presentation” entitled “Biliary Atresia home screening program in British Columbia: Evaluation of the first two years.” Congratulations Dr. Woolfson!

Congratulations Dr. Aven Poynter!

Dr. Aven Poynter is this year’s recipient of the Canadian Pediatric Society’s national “Distinguished Community Pediatrician” award. The Community Paediatrics Section established the Distinguished Community Paediatrician Award in 1999 to recognize a colleague(s) who has demonstrated a significant contribution to the field of community paediatrics. This year’s Distinguished Community Paediatrician is Dr. Aven Poynter (Langley, […]

Farewell to Grace McCarthy

In a statement issued by her family, former Social Credit cabinet minister in British Columbia Grace McCarthy died peacefully at her Vancouver home surrounded by her family on May 24, 2017 after a lengthy battle with a brain tumour. Grace McCarthy blazed a trail for women in politics and business; she was 89 at the […]